SAS Section Awards


Lester W. Strock Award

The Strock Award honors a spectroscopist who has made significant contributions to the geological and life sciences. Awardees have written a  paper or series of papers which are considered collectively outstanding by the New England Section


William J. Poehlman Award

This award recognizes the Regional Section of SAS that has contributed most toward accomplishing the goals furthering the ideals of SAS during the prior year. The awarded section will receive an award certificate and an honorarium of $750.


How to Nominate Someone

To nominate for an award, please send an email with any pertinent information (see award description for details) that would help our awards committees determine the nominees worthiness for the award to


For a Full List of All SAS Award Winners Click Here! For Information on each of this year's awardees click on the appropriate links below.