Volker Deckert Wins 2013 FACSS Charles Mann Award


The Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies is pleased to announce the winner of the 2013 Charles Mann Award. This award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated advancements in the field of Raman spectroscopy at a conference presented by FACSS and/or demonstrated dedication to the advancement of the Raman spectroscopy program at a conference presented by FACSS and/or the ASTM Raman subcommittee. The 2013 FACSS Charles Mann Awardee for Applied Raman Spectroscopy is Volker Deckert, Institute of Physical Chemistry, Jena University, Germany. The Award will be presented at SciX 2013 in Milwaukee, WI.


Volker Deckert holds a joint position at the Institute of Physical Chemistry, University of Jena, Germany and the Institute of Photonic Technology also in Jena. He obtained his diploma and Ph.D. degree from the University of Würzburg, working on instrumental developments for Raman spectroscopy. As a postdoc he worked on non-linear and time-resolved laser spectroscopy at the University of Tokyo and KAST, in Kawasaki. During his habilitation at the ETH Zurich, he came into contact with near-field optical techniques and was among the first to combine this high spatial resolution technique with Raman spectroscopy. A major breakthrough was the development of tipenhanced Raman spectroscopy (TERS), a combination of scanning probe microscopy with plasmonic probes. This technique brings together the sensitivity of surface-enhanced Raman scattering and the high lateral resolution of near-field optics, consequently


providing a tool to investigate phenomena much beyond the diffraction limit of conventional optics. Since then, his goal has been to push the lateral resolution of Raman spectroscopy into smaller and smaller dimensions. In particular, his interest is to apply the resolution capabilities of TERS towards nanoscale studies of bio molecules and recently to the investigation of fundamental dynamic processes of surface reactions.


Previous Charles Mann Award Winners


2002 Fran Adar


2003 Michael J. Pelletier


2004 Michael Carrabba


2005 D. Bruce Chase


2006 Michael Morris


2007 Neil Everall


2008 Ian R. Lewis


2009 Pavel Matousek

Current View