Lester W. Strock Award

Established by the SAS New England section to recognize an author or authors of an outstanding paper or series of papers.


Heidi Goenaga-Infante

Recognizing contributions to the field of analytical atomic spectrometry including the development of a new miniaturized spatial heterodyne spectrometer for standoff measurements of LIBS spectra and pioneering LIBS technique for underwater measurements, as well as outstanding publication history and citation numbers.

Heidi’s scientific career of over twenty years of experience on elemental and speciation analysis started with the award of a PhD from Oviedo University, Spain. She joined LGC as senior researcher in speciation analysis in 2003. Currently, she is a Science Fellow of LGC. She is also the Principal Scientist and Team Leader of the Inorganic Analysis team of fourteen PhDs and postgraduate scientists. Her group expertise currently lies in trace element speciation analysis, metallomics research, the characterisation of nanomaterials, high accuracy isotope ratio analysis, quantitative elemental bio-imaging and the characterisation of “speciated” reference materials and standards. Heidi Goenaga-Infante is the UK representative at the Inorganic Analysis Working Group of the CCQM, the international Consultative Committee for Metrology in Chemistry. She is also a member of the international advisory boards of Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry and the RSC journal Metallomics and of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Analytical Atomic Spectrometry, and a member of IUPAC. She is the Government Chemist representative on the Nanomaterials Environment and Health Government Group chaired by DEFRA and the LGC representative at ISO TC 24 (Particle characterisation). She is the EURAMET representative for inorganic analysis at the CCQM Key Comparison Working Group. She has acted as the coordinator of the EU EUROPEAN Metrology Research Proposal (EMRP) NanoChop “Chemical, Optical and Biological characterisation of nanomaterials in biological samples”.  She is the leading author of over a 106 scientific research papers and 5 book chapters. Heidi was recently awarded the 2020 Lester W. Strock Award from SAS.