## The SAS Spectrum Newsletter

The Newsletter of the Society for Applied Spectrscopy



## February, 2008 John Conboy to Receive 2008 Craver Award

The Coblentz Society is pleased to announce that Professor John Conboy of the University of Utah has been selected as the recipient of the 2008 Craver Award. In 2006, The Coblentz Society created an award to recognize the efforts of young professional spectroscopists that have made significant contributions in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. The Society has named this award for Clara D. Craver in recognition of her pioneering efforts in promoting the practice of infrared vibrational spectroscopy and her many years of service to the Coblentz Society. Further, the Craver Award is the Society's complement of its prestigious 'Coblentz Award' that recognizes young spectroscopists for efforts in fundamental aspects of vibrational spectroscopy. This award is presented to Professor Conboy in recognition of his multi-disciplinary achievements involving the use of nonlinear vibrational spectroscopy as a novel analytical tool for the study of cell membrane dynamics and structure.

Professor Conboy is an Associate Professor of Chemistry at the University of Utah. His research encompasses the development and application of novel bioanalytical and analytical techniques for the exploration of interfacial phenomena in biology and separation science; including the investigation of lipid structure and dynamics in cellular membranes by sum-frequency vibrational spectroscopy (SFVS), the measurement of protein and small molecule adsorption to biological surfaces using chiral second harmonic generation (C-SHG) and the study of ion transport between immiscible liquids by electrochemical

and spectroscopic methods.

Professor Conboy earned his Ph.D. at the University of Oregon with Professor Geraldine Richmond. He has held post doctoral appointments at the University of Minnesota (Professor Paul Barbara), and at the University of Arizona (Professor Scott Saavedra) as a National Institutes of Health (NIH) Postdoctoral Fellow. Professor Conboy joined the University of Utah in 2000 and from 2003 – 2006 was the Henry Eyring Assistant Professor, and in 2006 became the Henry Eyring Scholar and Associate Professor. Professor Conboy has over 40 publications to his credit and has presented his research findings at over 30 conferences including the American Chemical Society National Meeting, the Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies National Meeting (FACSS), and the Pittsburgh Conference. In addition he has organized several symposia on the biophysics of membranes, analytical chemistry at the biology interface, and spectroscopy at interfaces.

The Craver Award will be presented at the 2008 FACSS Conference to be held September 28 – Oct. 2, 2008 at the Grand Sierra Resort in Reno, NV. Professor Conboy will present the Coblentz Society's Craver Award Plenary Lecture in Applied Vibrational Spectroscopy and a separate half-day award symposium of six invited presentations will be held following his lecture at this conference.

## LIPPINCOTT AWARD PRESENTED AT THE U.K. IRDG MEETING

The Ellis R. Lippincott Award is an annual award the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (SAS) shares with the Optical Society of America and the Coblentz Society. The Ellis R. Lippincott Award was founded to honor Dr. Lippincott's memory by the recognition of significant contributions and notable achievements in the field of vibrational spectroscopy. This Award is usually presented at either the PittCon or FACSS meetings held in the U.S.A. However, the recipient of the Award for 2007, Professor Jonathon Tennyson was unable to attend either of these meetings, so an opportunity was created for him to receive his Award from the President-Elect of SAS, John Chalmers, at the traditional December ('Christmas') meeting of the U.K. IRDG (Infrared and Raman Discussion Group), which this year was held on Professor Tennyson's home ground of University College London (UCL). The IRDG is one of the oldest independent spectroscopy groups in the U.K.; this meeting was its 185th).

Dr. Tennyson is Massey Professor of Physics and Head of the Department of Physics and Astronomy at UCL. He studied at the Universities of Cambridge and Sussex. He was a post-doc at the University of Nijmegen and Daresbury Laboratory before moving to UCL as a "New Blood" Lecturer. He Chairs the Chemical and Molecular Physics section of the European Physical Society and an IUPAC task group A database of water transitions from experiment and theory. He was awarded the 2005 Sir David Bates Prize of the U.K. Institute of Physics.

Professor Tennyson's award presentation at the IRDG meeting was

"Simulating the Spectrum of Water Vapour." The popular meeting was very well attended with 98 delegates. Its popularity stems in part from the traditional lunch and refreshments that help make it as much a social event to meet old friends as well as listen to some excellent technical presentations. SAS members who have crossed the Atlantic to participate and give talks at these techno-social Christmas IRDG meetings in the last decade include Brian Marquardt (2007), Richard Crocombe (2006) and Mike Carrabba (1997). Others have traveled merely to participate more in its social aspects!



Jonathon Tennyson (right) receiving congratulations on his Lippincott Award from SAS President-Elect (2007) John Chalmers (left) at the U.K. IRDG meeting.

## FEBRUARY HISTORICAL EVENTS IN SPECTROSCOPY by Leopold May, Catholic University



February 12, 1933 Seventy five years ago. Jack L. Koenig, Honorary Member, was born on this day. He did research on the application of spectroscopy to polymers.



Comments to butcherATemail.wcu.e