The Lester W. Strock Award is given by the New England Section of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy in recognition of a selected publication of substantive research in/or application of analytical atomic spectrochemistry in the fields of earth science, life sciences, or stellar and cosmic sciences.


2023 Award Recipient – MARIA MONTES-BAYÓN

Recognizing a series of stellar publications addressing the use of atomic spectroscopy in speciation and metallomics research. These multidisciplinary research contributions have advanced the integration of separations science and biology coupled with atomic spectroscopy to address critical society concerns.

Prof. Maria Montes-Bayón holds a bachelor in Chemistry (1993, University of Oviedo, Spain), a master in Analytical Chemistry (1994, University of Plymouth, UK/ University of Oviedo) and a PhD (1999, University of Oviedo; awarded) degree. From April 2000 till July 2002, she joined the research group of Prof. Joseph A. Caruso at the Department of Chemistry at the University of Cincinnati (Ohio, USA) as Postdoctoral Fulbright Fellow. After this period, she got a Ramón y Cajal Senior Researcher contract at the University of Oviedo for five years. Later, in 2008, she became Associate Professor and in 2017, Full Professor of Analytical Chemistry at the University of Oviedo (Spain). Her main research interests are: a) Development of quantitative strategies for determination of molecular biomarkers of clinical relevance at the single cell level using ICP-MS; b) Evaluation of encapsulated metallodrugs for their potential use in chemotherapy using mass spectrometry and c) Analytical tools to study biogenic nanoparticles and metal nano- debris from metallic implants.

2022 Award Recipient – Igor Gornushkin

Recognizing contributions, and expertise in fundamental and applied spectroscopy including Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy (LIBS), emission, absorption, fluorescence, and Raman. Dr. Gornushkin’s research and over 32 publications since 2017 have provided the underlying theoretical foundation to many spectroscopists, including high profile international analytical spectroscopy research groups.

Dr. Igor Igor Gornushkin is a senior scientist at the BAM Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing in Berlin, Germany. His major expertise is in fundamental and applied spectroscopy including LIBS, emission, absorption, and fluorescence with a focus on modeling and simulation of laser induced plasma and development of spectroscopic methods for environmental, industrial, and laboratory  applications.


2021 Award Recipient – Uwe Karst

Dr. Karst is being recognized for his contributions to the field of analytical atomic spectrometry, research across multiple disciplines, including areas such as medical, pharmaceutical, and environmental, and 39 papers on understanding Gd-based contrast agents from both a medical and environmental aspects.

Dr. Uwe Karst holds the Chair of Analytical Chemistry at the University of Münster, Germany, since 2005. Previously, he was appointed as Chair of Chemical Analysis at the University of Twente, The Netherlands, from 2001 until 2005. He is author of more than 350 publications in peer-reviewed scientific journals.



2020 Award Recipient – Heidi Goenaga-Infante

Dr. Goenaga-Infante is a Science Fellow of LGC. She is also the Principal Scientist and Team Leader of the Inorganic Analysis team of fourteen PhDs and postgraduate scientists. Dr. Goenaga-Infante is being recognized for her contributions to the field of analytical atomic spectrometry including the development of a new miniaturized spatial heterodyne spectrometer for standoff measurements of LIBS spectra and pioneering LIBS technique for underwater measurements, as well as outstanding publication history and citation.



2019 Mike Angel

2018  Javier Laserna

2017 Frank Vanhaecke

2016 Raymond Arvidson

2015 R. Kenneth Marcus

2014 Steven Ray - Interview with Steven Ray by Spectroscopy Magazine

2013 Richard Russo - Interview with Russo

2012 Ralph E. Sturgeon - Interview with Sturgeon

2011 David W. Hahn

2010 Kay Niemax

2009 Nico Omenetto

2008 Annemie Bogaerts

2007 Detlef Günther

2006 Paul Farnsworth

2005 Richard Russo

2004 James D. Winefordner

2003 Ramon Barnes

2002 Julian Tyson

2001 John Olesik

2000 Max Diem

1999 D. Bruce Chase

1998 Sandford Asher

1997 Therese M. Cotton

1996 Richard A. Keller

1995 Michael D. Morris

1994 Richard F. Browner, Guangxuan Zhu

1993 Willard W. Harrison

1992 G. Hieftje

1991 M. Bonner Denton

1990 Edward S. Yeung

1989 Gary Horlick, Martha A. Vaughn, S.H. Tan

1988 Thomas C. O'Haver

1987 Richard Sacks, J.M. Goldberg, R.J. Collins, S.Y. Suh

1986 Robert S. Houck, Velmer A. Fassell, Gerald D. Flesch, Harry J. Svec, Alan L. Gray, Charles E. Taylor

1985 C.R. Blakley, M.L. Vestal

1984 Gary M. Hieftje, Stanley B. Smith, Jr.

1983 M. Barber, R.S. Bardoli, R. D. Sedgwick, A.N. Tyler

1982 Charles Wilkins

1981 David M. Hercules

1980 John P. Walters